The Blue Heron Educator Award is about honoring educators who embody the characteristics of agility, integrity, compassion, and perseverance, and have gone above and beyond to inspire those same traits in their students—both in and out of the classroom. We're looking to hear your stories about educators who have made an impact in your lives.

Our Outward Bound School operates two campuses in Baltimore and Washington DC and will recognize two educators - one from each major metro area. The Blue Heron Educator Award is open to middle or high school educators, administrators, youth non-profit leaders, or anyone working directly with youth in your community.

Each winner will receive an exclusive wooden tabletop award and a one-day teambuilding experience for themselves and members of their team!

2024 Nominations are open through Sunday, June 2nd!


2023 Blue Heron Award Winners

Tiescheka Stuart, Roosevelt STAY Opportunity Academy, Washington, DC

Sabina Sully, Patterson Park Public Charter School, Baltimore, MD

2022 Blue Heron Award Winners

Andrew Schick, Cardozo Education Campus

Nicole Veltre-Luton, Digital Harbor High School

2021 Blue Heron Award Winners

Liz Bilbao, The Lab School of Washington

Richard Bianchi, MERVO